Mod Archive Forums Mod Archive Forums
Advanced search  

News:

Please note: Your main modarchive.org account will not work here, you must create a forum account to post on the forums.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help Creating Instruments....  (Read 10754 times)

Vardaman

• New User
    • View Profile
Help Creating Instruments....
« on: March 18, 2008, 02:26:54 »

Hi,
I'm new to Milky Tracker and Tracking in general, but I'm really excited to learn how.
I've been having some trouble making my own instruments.  I can play other peoples instruments that other people have made, but whenever i try and make my own they never sound when i hit the keyboard.  Anyone wanna walk me through how to make an instrument?
Thanks,
Vardaman

pailes

• Milkytracker Moderator
  • Rising Star
    • View Profile
Re: Help Creating Instruments....
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2008, 20:01:34 »

Are you trying to draw a chiptune instrument? You need to loop it, because otherwise it's not very likely to sound like anything.

Vardaman

• New User
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2008, 20:38:17 »

yeah, i tried that and it still isn't working... 

pailes

• Milkytracker Moderator
  • Rising Star
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2008, 20:51:35 »

How do you try to play it? When you play it, can you see vertical lines moving through the sample? Also try loading a .wav file and modify that one.

Vardaman

• New User
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2008, 21:44:30 »

Ok, so i didn't realize i needed to load a sample..... wow.......

What kind of sample do you normally load to make basic chiptune leads/basses/drums?

raina

• Milkytracker Moderator
  • Great Poster
    • View Profile
    • raina.kapsi.fi
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2008, 17:02:05 »