Mod Archive Forums Mod Archive Forums
Advanced search  

News:

Please note: Your main modarchive.org account will not work here, you must create a forum account to post on the forums.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie needs to create 4 channel MOD  (Read 12990 times)

toneunkee

• New User
    • View Profile
Newbie needs to create 4 channel MOD
« on: August 04, 2008, 21:31:44 »

Hello everyone, I am a knowledgable Pro Tools audio guy but a total newbie to the MOD tracker world.  I need to get up to speed and create a great MOD tune for a friends cell phone game.  Is Milky Tracker a good place to start??  Can it import MIDI files?  What's the easiest program to use?

I also have a file size limit of 100k for the entire game!  Any suggestions?  This needs to sound incredible, but I know Milky Tracker does not support VST plugins.  How do I get great sounding instruments into such a tiny file????

I should also say that the music will be as follows:
Intro: 10 second intro
Win: 10 seconds or less
Lose: 10 seconds or less

I'm also curious how to make a MOD song loop continuously. (possibly for the menu screen)

« Last Edit: August 04, 2008, 21:39:46 by toneunkee »

m0d

• Creator of Meow Meow Meow Kitty Song
  • Global Moderator
  • Top Poster
  • Original Site Admin/Designer/Coder
    • View Profile
    • Science & Art - Eindhoven.space - RedHeat Music & More
Re: Newbie needs to create 4 channel MOD
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2008, 00:31:40 »

MilkyTracker is excellent but as with all tracker programmes, steep learning curve to go vertical for a horizontal sequencer user.

OpenModplug will import MIDI files, don't expect miracles though.

A MOD loops by default, usually. If you want to skip to a particular pattern within the module you have to use the pattern jump "effect command", which goes in the note effect control code column. It varies between trackers but for MOD files it's Dxx, I think. Where xx is the Hexadecimal number of the pattern to jump to.