Mod Archive Forums Mod Archive Forums
Advanced search  

News:

Please note: Your main modarchive.org account will not work here, you must create a forum account to post on the forums.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hi, new guy here. First question  (Read 3063 times)

Kitsune Mifune

• New User
    • View Profile
Hi, new guy here. First question
« on: July 30, 2020, 10:12:43 »

Hi everyone!

I'm brand new to trackers, but I was a massive Amiga fan back in the day and it's something I want to pursue. I've been a musician since 1997 and I've been recording my own stuff since about 2000, so I'm fairly well versed in music.

I have a first question though:

I make my own samples, but I can't seem to get them in a format that Milkytracker is happy with. I always get the "Incompatible samples" message, but I'm sure that my samples meet the criteria as they are all 8-Bit, 25K, 22.050kHz, mono, and centred.

The only thing I'm not quite sure about is setting the C-4 base, so could someone please expand on that? Does it mean that I have to export everything from my DAW on note C-4? If not, how does one actually set that within Milkytracker?

I only ask because when I load my project back up, the samples are always played a few octaves lower than what they were before saving, and I can't seem to figure out what to do.

Apologies if I sound like a noob, but trackers are a world apart from any other type of music software I've ever used, so I'm literally starting at the start here.

qsrmvt

Re: Hi, new guy here. First question
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2020, 12:51:43 »

Welcome!

While I can't comment on Milkytracker specifically, not having used it, I can expand on the C-4 issue.