Mod Archive Forums Mod Archive Forums
Advanced search  

News:

Please note: Your main modarchive.org account will not work here, you must create a forum account to post on the forums.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What is the best way to learn how to compose tracker music for a complete newbie  (Read 2646 times)

Alex10_0

• New User
    • View Profile

I've always liked listening to tracker music but never bothered to want to make some, well, now I do but I'm kind of at a dead end at my end, I'm motivated to make music but have no idea where to start, I've messed around with fasttracker II but struggling hard to make music, this is probably because I have no idea how 60% of the menus work and that I've never made music, so what are the best docs/tutorials/suggestions/anything at all really to help me get started, especially a good doc/tutorial for composing music, I seem to be really bad at it lol, I hope there's other people who started off like me not really knowing how to make music and able to give me some guidance

Saga Musix

• TMA Moderator
  • Top Poster
  • I love OpenMPT! And Modules! And TMA! And Pie! :>
    • View Profile
    • Saga Musix - free module music and more!

The problem is twofold:
1. You need to know how to make music
2. You need to know your software

1. If you have never made any music, I think the start is going to be difficult no matter what software or tool you use to get into music. Learning music theory can be helpful in understanding why some things work and sound good while others don't. Music theory is applicable no matter if you are using a tracker or a DAW.

2. There are various tutorials both in text and video form (search on YouTube for "fasttracker tutorial") but I cannot recommend any particular one. FastTracker comes with a manual that's worth reading. For sure it will not explain everything but it should get you started with the basics.