Mod Archive Forums Mod Archive Forums
Advanced search  

News:

Please note: Your main modarchive.org account will not work here, you must create a forum account to post on the forums.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Spd?  (Read 6344 times)

NoSpin

• New User
    • View Profile
Spd?
« on: September 13, 2008, 19:35:01 »

i'm new to trackers, but have been using several different modern sequencers for music for about 5 years. 

I'm having trouble understanding what "Spd" is. i mean, i can tell that when you lower the number, the pattern plays faster, but i dont really understand exactly why and how much and why there is a "BPM" and "Spd" control?
i tried searching, reading both manuals and the trackers handbook, and by the looks of it, some of you are very helpful when newer users ask questions.

so, does anybody care to explain it for me?

thanks in advance
kyle 

raina

• Milkytracker Moderator
  • Great Poster
    • View Profile
    • raina.kapsi.fi
Re: Spd?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2008, 19:58:55 »

The basic time unit in traditional trackers is a tick which comes from the original implementation on Amiga computers where trackers began. The Spd value is actually the number of ticks per row, or a line of text you see in the pattern editor.

The BPM value has a misleading name since it controls the duration of ticks, not actual beats per minute. Setting Spd to 3, 6 or 12 makes BPM appear almost like actual BPM value, but it's not entirely accurate. Only a handful of Spd/BPM combinations result in song speeds that are synchronizable with modern sequencers. It's a little unfortunate but you can't rewrite history. :/

Some pointers on Spd values:

Using Spd 1 is not advised because it renders most pattern commands nonfunctional. This is because notes are triggered on the first tick and commands mostly come into effect on the following ones. If you only have one tick per row, they'll never get their chance.