Mod Archive Forums Mod Archive Forums
Advanced search  

News:

Please note: Your main modarchive.org account will not work here, you must create a forum account to post on the forums.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Some questions for you all - College Senior Thesis  (Read 2868 times)

jmankman

• New User
    • View Profile
Some questions for you all - College Senior Thesis
« on: September 29, 2020, 02:14:01 »

Hi all, first post on the forums here so forgive me if this isn't in the right place.

I am a student at Drake University studying music and computer science, with tracker music being my favorite overlap between the two.  I've been tracking for years now, since I was in middle school, starting with FamiTracker and only recently in the past year have I moved on to check out OpenMPT, which I'm having a lot of fun with.

The topic for my thesis is tracker music if you haven't guessed already, and that includes aspects of the history, the community, how it is unique, and the process of making music with these programs, which leads me here.

If any of you have some time to answer some questions, your input would be really helpful to me, and I'm sure others here would like to see some of the answers too.  I'm also writing something in OpenMPT for this, and I'll post it here once it is finished.  So without further ado...

- How did you discover/get into Tracking?

- What, to you, is so appealing about music made with tracking software?

- Has the community played a role in your experience with tracking?

- Are there any composition techniques you've picked up unique to tracking? (e.g., single channel echo, single channel chords, etc.)

Answer whichever questions you feel inclined to, any kind of response is good enough for me.

Thank you in advance!

Saga Musix

• TMA Moderator
  • Top Poster
  • I love OpenMPT! And Modules! And TMA! And Pie! :>
    • View Profile
    • Saga Musix - free module music and more!