Mod Archive Forums Mod Archive Forums
Advanced search  

News:

Please note: Your main modarchive.org account will not work here, you must create a forum account to post on the forums.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Starting with trackers  (Read 24693 times)

Jacob Ashcroft

• New User
    • View Profile
Starting with trackers
« on: March 16, 2007, 17:20:19 »

Hi, I'm a musician and I know that some musicians I like (Aphex Twin, Ceephax...) use Trackers on (for instance) the Commodore Amiga.  I'm interested in trying this.  Should I buy an Amiga computer 2nd hand so that I can use trackers?

Can I download the trackers from the internet and then put them onto the Amiga somehow? What do most people do, I'm interested to know what version of the Amiga you think I should buy and what trackers etc... I've heard of NoiseTracker, SoundTracker...

Can anyone help?

Thanks, James

Eagle

• Rising Star
  • Technique Fanatic
    • View Profile
    • Eagle's pulsonal website.
Starting with trackers
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2007, 10:49:06 »

You've come to the right place. Yes, the trackers are common on the Amiga, but also on Windows and DOS! So if you want to start tracking, you won't neccesarily have to buy a 2nd hand Amiga (although that's a good idea, the Amiga is a lovelly computer).

Check the Mod Archive's own tracker list:
http://modarchive.org/index.php?LinksSoftwareTracker

Recommended software are MilkyTracker (will probably fit your taste, as it's almost completelly like using ProTracker to some extent) and Open Modplug Tracker (which has a very clean and beginner friendly Windows interface).

You may also go to modland and download some of the more exotic trackers for Amiga/DOS/Linux/Windows:
http://ftp://ftp.modland.com/pub/trackers/

If you get an Amiga emulator like WinUAE-something, you can run those Amiga trackers you were interested in on Windows. But I'll leave the details to someone else.